Amherst School Committee

The Amherst School Committee is responsible for the operations of the elementary schools, Pre-K to 6, which serve students from the Town of Amherst. These schools include Crocker Farm, Fort River, and Wildwood.

School Committee members welcome input from the public, and contact information for the Amherst School Committee can be found here.

Fort River School Building Committee Membership Announced

The Amherst School Committee is pleased to announce the membership of the School Building Committee for the Fort River Building and Site Feasibility Study. At our Tuesday, October 17th meeting, we randomly selected four at-large community members to serve on this 12-member committee. We would sincerely like to thank all those who submitted applications, and to those community members, educators, administrators, and town employees who will be offering their time and service to do the important work of this committee going forward. The selection process went as follows:

  •  All completed applications were numbered and names were removed.
  • These numbered applications were shared with all School Committee members via email.
  • The Chair and Vice-Chair reviewed the numbered applications and sorted them according to the positions for which they applied, which included:
    • Community Member with Green Energy Expertise and Architectural Background-At-Large
    • Parent/Guardian/Caregiver
    • At-Large Community Member #1
    • At-Large Community Member #2

The Chair and Vice-Chair shared all complete applications and the categories with the Committee; final selections were made randomly during the public Committee meeting on Tuesday.  The Committee publicly committed to having a minimum of 50% of the voting membership of the School Building Committee be composed of women and persons of color. Applications were considered accordingly based on the optional self-identification of applicants. 

The final School Building Committee is as follows:

  • Eric Nakajima, Amherst School Committee Representative
  • Diane Chamberlain, Fort River Principal
  • Kristine Royal, Green Design/Architectural Representative
  • Heather Sheldon, SEPAC Representative
  • Jonathan Salvon, Fort River PGO Representative
  • Irene Dujovne, Parent-at-Large
  • Allison Page, Community Member-at-Large
  • Maria Kopicki, Community Member-at-Large
  • Claire McGinnis, Town Finance Representative
  • Jean Fay, ARPS Staff Member
  • Nicole Singer, Fort River Teacher
  • TBD, Facilities Director
  • Dr. Michael Morris, Superintendent (ex-officio member)

We appreciate the range of experience and expertise represented in this group and look forward to working together on behalf of our schools.

Phoebe Hazzard, Chair                                  Anastasia Ordonez, Vice-Chair

Meeting Schedule

The School Committee encourages parents and other interested citizens to attend its public meetings and to make comments during the public hearing portion of the agenda.   The Amherst School Committee is scheduled to meet at 6:00 p.m. (unless otherwise noted) on the following nights.  All meetings will be held in the library of Amherst Regional High School (unless otherwise noted). 

  • Tuesday, August 1, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 8, 2017 (Public Listening Session at Amherst Town Hall, Town Room)
  • Tuesday, September 12, 2017 (6:15 p.m.)
  • Thursday, September 11, 2017 (Public Listening Session)
  • Tuesday, September 19, 2017
  • Monday, September 25, 2017
  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017 (Joint with Pelham School Committee)
  • Tuesday, November 14, 2017
  • Tuesday, November 21, 2017
  • Tuesday, December 19, 2017
  • Wednesday, January 24, 2018
  • Monday, February 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2018
  • Tuesday, March 20, 2018
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018
  • Tuesday, May 15, 2018
  • Tuesday, June 12, 2018 (Joint with Regional School Committee)
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.